How Popular is WordPress Blogging?

So, yeah, TheFreelanceHand.com is powered by the wonderful CMS called WordPress. But the question is, how popular is this ‘WordPress’?

Here’s a little run down of a couple sites also running WordPress:

Business

* Ben & Jerry’s (France) - http://www.benjerry.fr/blog/
* Bizmanualz - http://www.bizmanualz.com/blog/
* Bnet - http://bnet.com/ (CNET)
* Capcom - http://blog.capcom.com/
* Dell Direct - http://yourblog.direct2dell.com/
* Delta Airlines - http://blog.delta.com/
* Download.com - http://blogs.download.com/
* GM Next - http://blog.gmnext.com/
* Ice.com - http://blog.ice.com/
* Intel (Spain) - http://www.corelifeblog.com/
* McAfee - http://www.avertlabs.com/research/blog/ - http://siblog.mcafee.com/
* Nike - http://inside.nike6.com/
* Om Malik - http://gigaom.com/
* Chandler Project - http://blog.chandlerproject.org/
* Playstation US - http://blog.us.playstation.com/
* Snap.com - http://snap.com/wordpress/
* Xerox - http://blogs.xerox.com/
* Yahoo - http://yodel.yahoo.com/ and about 20 others
* ZDNet - http://blogs.zdnet.com/ (CNET)

Universities

* Galicia Project - http://www.galicia-frc.org
* MIT - http://news-libraries.mit.edu/blog/
* OSU Admissions - http://oregonstate.edu/admissions/blog
* UFL - http://news.ufl.edu/
* University of Melbourne - http://blogs.unimelb.edu.au/
* USF - http://blog.usf.edu/ (blog hosting for thousands of students)
* Duke University Center for International Studies - http://ducis.jhfc.duke.edu 

Media

* Albany Times Union - http://timesunion.com/opinion/blogs/
* All Things D - http://allthingsd.com/ (Kara Swisher and Walt Mossberg)
* Arena Magazine - http://www.arenamagazine.co.uk/
* Britain’s Express and Star - http://www.expressandstar.com .
* China Digital Times - http://chinadigitaltimes.net/
* CNN, CNN Money, and Fortune many
* Financial Mail - http://blogs.fm.co.za/
* Fox News, many, including http://gretawire.foxnews.com/
* Idaho Falls – Today! Idaho Falls
* LeMonde users’ blogs - http://www.lemonde.fr/web/blogs/0,39-0,48-0,0.html (first french online media)
* Radio Open Source (NPR) - http://www.radioopensource.org/
* Reuters - http://blogs.reuters.com/
* StarTribune Preps Insider
* St. Louis Post-Dispatch - http://www.stltoday.com/blogs/
* The Times - http://blogs.thetimes.co.za/
* Time Inc, many - http://www.time.com/
* Wall Street Journal - http://blogs.wsj.com/law/ (and many others) 

Popular

* Alejandro Escovedo - http://www.alejandroescovedo.com
* Andy Roddick (Tennis) - http://www.andyroddick.com/
* Ant (comedian) - http://www.antcomic.com/blog
* Björk’s Volta Tour blog - http://blog.bjork.com/
* Cardinal Seán (Boston) http://www.cardinalseansblog.org/
* Cassie - http://cassie.ns4life.com/
* Cherie Priest - http://cheriepriest.com/
* Davezilla - http://davezilla.com/
* Greg Brady Project - http://www.thegregbradyproject.com/
* I Can Has Cheez Burger - http://icanhascheezburger.com/
* Jane Fonda - http://www.janefonda.com/
* John August (Go, Big Fish, The Nines) - http://johnaugust.com/
* Kevin Smith - http://silentbobspeaks.com/
* Kineda - http://www.kineda.com
* Late Night Live - http://www.latenightlivetimor.net/
* MTV Buzz Worthy - http://buzzworthy.mtv.com/
* Olyoo – Olympic Peninsula - http://olyoo.com/
* Paws and Effect - http://paws-and-effect.com/
* Perez Hilton - http://perezhilton.com/
* San Diego Zoo - http://sandiegozoo.org/wordpress/
* Sony BMG Sweden - http://sonybmg.se/
* Stephen Fry - http://stephenfry.com/blog/
* The SEO Rapper - http://www.theseorapper.com/
* Thomas Dolby - http://blog.thomasdolby.com/
* VH1 - http://www.bestweekever.tv/ 

Magazines

* Arena - http://www.arenamagazine.co.uk/
* Adotas - http://www.adotas.com/
* Complex - http://www.complex.com/blogs/
* People - http://offtherack.people.com/
* XXL Magazine - http://xxlmag.com/ 

Geek

* The Apple Blog - http://theappleblog.com/
* Canonical Blog - http://blog.canonical.com/
* GNOME - http://blogs.gnome.org/ (WP Mu)
* Google Sightseeing - http://googlesightseeing.com/
* HotForWords - http://www.hotforwords.com/
* LaughingSquid - http://laughingsquid.com/
* Mandriva - http://blog.mandriva.com/
* Mark Shuttleworth (Ubuntu fame) - http://www.markshuttleworth.com/
* Meraki - http://meraki.com/blog/
* Mitch Kapor - http://blog.kapor.com/
* Mozilla - http://blog.mozilla.com/ (WP Mu), http://developer.mozilla.org/devnews/ and many others
* Netstumbler - http://netstumbler.com/
* OpenID - http://openid.net/
* Releaselog|RLSLOG.net - http://www.rlslog.net/
* SitePoint - http://sitepoint.com/ (all blogs)
* Surfin’ Safari - http://webkit.org/blog/
* TechCrunch - http://www.techcrunch.com/ (and all other *crunch sites)
* TechRepublic - http://techrepublic.com.com/ (CNET) 

Culture

* Obey Giant - http://obeygiant.com/ 

Government and Politics

* CNN Political Ticker - http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com/
* Foreign Policy Association - http://foreignpolicyblogs.com
* Joe Biden - http://blog.joebiden.com
* Library of Congress - http://www.loc.gov/blog
* Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House - http://speaker.gov/blog
* The State of Israel (not government affiliated) - http://www.isrealli.org 

Remarkable Design

* 2advanced - http://www.plat4m.com/
* Colour Lovers - http://www.colourlovers.com/blog/ 

Blogging Networks

* 9Rules - http://9rules.com
* b5 Media - http://b5media.com
* Digital Photography Blogs - http://dpblogs.com
* Niner Niner - http://ninerniner.com
* Wurk - http://wurk.net 

WP MU Usage

* All Things D - http://allthingsd.com
* Animation Blogspot - http://animationblogspot.com
* Edublogs - http://edublogs.org
* Freie Universitaet Berlin - http://blogs.fu-berlin.de
* Harvard - http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/home
* LeMonde newspaper - http://www.lemonde.fr/blogs
* Overstock.com - http://community.overstock.com/blogs/
* TUIfly.com Airline - http://www.tuifly.com/blog
* University of Calgary - http://ucalgaryblogs.ca/ 

Products and Famous Startups

* 30 Boxes - http://30boxes.com/blog
* Blip.tv - http://blog.blip.tv/blog
* Box.net - http://blog.box.net
* Cerulean Studios (Trillian) - http://blog.ceruleanstudios.com
* cPanel - http://blog.cpanel.net
* Digg - http://blog.digg.com
* Dogster - http://blog.dogster.com
* DomainTools (whois.sc) - http://blog.domaintools.com
* Dopplr - http://blog.dopplr.com
* Farecast - http://farecast.live.com/blog/
* Flickr - http://blog.flickr.com
* IntenseDebate - http://intensedebate.com/blog
* Magnetk / SFTP Drive - http://blog.magnetk.com
* Mahalo - http://blog.mahalo.com
* Meebo - http://blog.meebo.com
* Mint - http://blog.mint.com/blog/
* PBWiki - http://blog.pbwiki.com
* Renkoo - http://renkoo.wordpress.com
* SlideShare - http://blog.slideshare.net
* Smugmug - http://blogs.smugmug.com
* Sony Playstation - http://blog.us.playstation.com
* Sphere - http://sphere.wordpress.com
* The Robot Co-op - http://blog.robotcoop.com
* Viddler - http://blog.viddler.com
* Wesabe - http://blog.wesabe.com 

Large Hosting Companies

* Dreamhost
* Layered Tech
* Lunar Pages
* Media Temple
* PEER 1
* Rackspace
* ServerBeach
* The Planet / EV1Servers 

Source- Word Press

  • Share/Save/Bookmark

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

12 Responses to “How Popular is WordPress Blogging?”

  1. Читер Says:

    потрясающие идеи…нам перенять бы …великолепно.

  2. Мобильный Says:

    эх, с 2009 всех поздравляю!!!

  3. Katya Says:
  4. Прекрасная леди Says:

    Блог замечательный, однако чувствуется, что нужно что-нибудь изменить.

  5. lotdryday Says:

    Спасибо, но уже где-то видел.

  6. Врач медицины Says:

    Случайно увидел. Не ожидал.

  7. МедВрач Says:

    Красиво написано, мне понравилось.

  8. Yarkos Says:

    “Пост хорош”

  9. Звезда Says:

    Читал похожую статью на эту тему, но у Вас совсем другое мнение, спасибо, интересно было сравнить :)

  10. Гонга Says:

    “Спасибо за пост, а это тема”

  11. Natawa Says:

    Прив, Ваш сайт прикольный хотела узнать на каком движке делали? и смогу ли я что-то подобное сделать на Ворд Пресе?

  12. Строитель Says:

    Скажите, а у вас есть RSS поток в этом блоге?

Leave a Reply